Megan's Law — Consequences That Can Last a Lifetime
In New Jersey, conviction for a sex crime, such as sexual assault, criminal sexual contact, and possession of child pornography often leads to a prison sentence, and after release, a requirement that you register as a sex offender with the New Jersey Sex Offender Registry. Registration is not only humiliating, but carries with it limitations on where you can live and work. While registration is not optional, an experienced criminal defense lawyer like those at Bailey & Orozco can often challenge the tier you will be required to register under.
If you have been convicted of a sex offense requiring you to register as a Registered Sex Offender, contact Bailey & Orozco, LLC, for a free consultation to discuss how we can assist you in contesting your tier placement.
What is Megan's Law?
In 1994, the New Jersey legislature enacted Megan's Law. Megan's Law requires certain convicted sex offenders to register with law enforcement. Communities are notified that a person on the sex offender registry is living among them. Failing to register as a convicted sex offender can result in further criminal charges and incarceration, just for failing to register.
The Three Tiers of Megan's Law
Under Megan's Law, a sex offender is required to register under a three-tier system of categorizing offenders. Depending on the nature of your conviction, members of the public, employers and police officers may become aware of your criminal history.
- Tier One - Police are notified. The information you are required to provide includes your name, address, date of birth, type of car, and employment information. You are required to provide annual updates; and, must provide a notification 10 days prior to changing your address.
- Tier Two - Police and Schools are notified. Other groups that request notification will also be notified. You must provide the same information listed in Tier One. You are required to provide annual updates; and, must provide a notification 10 days prior to changing your address.
- Tier Three - Police, Schools and Communities are notified. You must provide the same information listed in Tier One. You are required to provide monthly updates; and, must provide a notification 10 days prior to changing your address.
How Can a Tier Placement be Challenged
A sex offender who is required to register is classified via the 'Registrant Risk Assessment Scale', which considers a variety of factors, including the type of offense, a psychological evaluation of the registrant and the prior conviction record of the registrant. A challenge to change a tier placement begins by evaluating the basis for the present Tier placement, and considers the alternative mitigating factors that can be used to establish the basis for the placement into a lower tier.
Our law firm provides aggressive, experienced representation to those required to register:
- Challenging the tier placement
- Filing an application to be removed from the Registration Requirement
- Assisting in the application to relocate
- Representing clients who have failed to register
- Representing clients who have failed to update their information
- Representing clients who have failed to notify of a relocation
With more than 35 years of experience behind them, the lawyers at Bailey & Orozco are there to assist and represent you. Contact us at 866-919-6193 for a free case evaluation. We are available to help you 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Se habla español ▪ Nós falamos o português ▪ Si parla italiano